Pakistan bowlers had figured out how to confine their rivals to 149/6 till the second-last chunk of the penultimate over, yet Rajapaksa’s immense six on the last wad of the nineteenth over and afterward 15 runs in the twentieth over – – including a limit and a greatest – – moved the force Sri Lanka’s way.

tvguidetime.com

Rajapaksa, who made an unbeaten 71 off only 45 conveyances, said the useful last over removed the game from Pakistan’s hands.

“It was difficult out there (when I came in to bat with five wickets down). They (Pakistan) were bowling great. Wanindu (Hasaranga) and I had a decent arrangement. Nature of the Sri Lanka group is to be positive and not have pressure. That assisted us with scoring runs,” said Rajapaksa.

“At the point when Iftikhar (Ahmed) was bowling, Wanindu needed to assault, however luckily the two of us were getting the runs. I needed to change my game since Pakistan were top right now. Needed to invest some energy in the wrinkle,” he added.

“At the point when (lead trainer) Chris (Silverwood) came to converse with us at the beverages break, I let him know that it seems to be a 140 pitch. What’s more, ultimately we remained till the end and the possible objective was entirely different. This is a round of force, and we set the energy in the last over of the principal innings (when the group scored 15 runs),” he added.

‘Player of the Tournament’ Wanindu Hasaranga, who scored 36 and took three wickets, said Pakistan bowlers were breathing discharge when he came in to bat at 60/5, yet he adhered to his job of playing “ordinary shots”.

— ICC (@ICC) September 12, 2022

“At the point when I stepped up to the plate, we were 60/5 so that’s what we arranged in the event that we can score more than 150 that is a decent aggregate. Furthermore, I said that I will assume my own part, so that is the reason I played my typical shots. The initial not many overs, ball was swinging. Yet, when I was batting, wicket was great.”

On his bowling execution, the all-rounder said, “I love to bowl in subcontinent. I like to bowl on the stumps; I feel that helps me find success. I attempt to bowl without limits so that is the reason I got three wickets in the keep going over on Sunday. Our young men did incredible work, particularly in the wake of losing to Afghanistan,” he added.